UPCOMING WORKSHOPS

ONLINE

Workshop Series for Parents and Professionals

Each workshop consists of 6 2-hour sessions.

Online workshops take place on Zoom.

Seating is limited. Register early.

You’ll receive the workshop login information after you register.

Neurobehavioral Conditions including FASD: Understanding & Application of the FASCETS Brain-Based Approach

Wednesdays
Sept. 23–Oct. 28, 2020
12pm–2pm Eastern Time (ET) 
9am–11am Pacific Time (PT)

Thursdays
Oct. 8–Nov. 12, 2020
9am–11am Eastern Time (ET) 
6am–8am Pacific Time (PT)

Tuesdays
Oct. 20–Nov. 24, 2020
6pm–8pm Eastern Time (ET) 
3pm–5pm Pacific Time (PT)

Saturdays
Jan. 23–Mar. 27, 2021
2:30pm–4:30pm Eastern Time (ET) 
11:30am–1:30pm Pacific Time (PT)

Tuesdays
Jan. 26–Mar. 30, 2021
2pm–4pm Eastern Time (ET) 
11am–1pm Pacific Time (PT)29

Wednesdays
Feb. 8–Mar. 17, 2021
12pm–2pm Eastern Time (ET) 
9am–11am Pacific Time (PT)

Overview:

This workshop provides information about Fetal Alcohol/Neurobehavioral Conditions(FA/NB) and the effects of alcohol and other drugs on the brains and behaviors of children, adolescents and adults.

FA/NB are brain-based, neurobehavioral conditions with behavioral symptoms. The workshop will educate you on a best practices approach for increasing understanding of FA/NB, reducing frustration, and expanding options.Case examples of successful accommodations are central to this training.

This is intended for professionals as well as parents and other caregivers of children with confirmed or suspected FASD or other brain-based conditions. Our experience is that the training is enriched by having a mixed group of parents, caregivers, and professionals.

Objectives:

✔ Understand FA/NB as a brain-based physical disability with behavioral symptoms

✔ Understand and recognize primary and secondary symptoms

✔ Learn why people with FA/NB frequently receive overlapping DSM diagnoses

✔ Understand why traditional behavioral treatment techniques are frequently ineffective for people with FA/NB

✔ Learn to develop and apply effective strategies for people with FA/NB in different settings

CEU Credits: 12 hours of Continuing Education Credit for NASW (National Association of Social Workers) and MHACBO (Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon) have been approved. All participants will receive a general certificate of completion for the training, indicating the number of workshop hours

Note: This workshop is the equivalent of a 2-day in-person workshop. Anyone interested in becoming a Certified Facilitator of the FASCETS Neurobehavioral Model requires the equivalent of a 3-day workshop. If you are interested in eventually becoming a facilitator, please contact us and we will discuss bridging options.